Time Management Tips to Make Your Day More Productive

One of my biggest challenges working from home is managing time. I am awed by people who can accomplish so much in one day. I’ll admit that I’m not very good at following schedules, and I’ve been guilty of procrastination but it’s never too cluttered spacelate to make changes. And that’s why I’m writing this down.

It’s quite funny but I think most people know the rules of proper time management. The bigger challenge is keeping up with it. If you’re having trouble getting your tasks done, like I do, then perhaps these tips will help:

Follow the one-minute rule. I came across this tip while browsing online, and it makes a lot of sense.  It’s a great advice from Gretchen Rubin, author of the best selling book, The Happiness Project.

It’s simple. If there’s anything that you can get done within a minute or less, do it. If you think of it, putting off the tiniest chores for later when you get a “free time” is a dangerous habit because you won’t have a free time. Before you know it, your home is cluttered, and you have a pile of work log waiting to get done.

I love this rule because I don’t need to think about it, or plan it. I’ve been trying to remember this mantra, since I’ve read about it a few days ago.

Suffer for 15 minutes. Another practical tip from Gretchen Rubin which I love. It’s all about starting a project without delay, not worrying about a time-frame, but accomplishing what you can within 15 minutes.

I think it’s a great boost to motivation. No matter how much you get done in a short time, it cuts some of the work, and if you continue it every day, you’re bound to complete that project much sooner than later.

Now, I hsuffer for 15 minutesave a lot of plans that I want to get done, but I keep waiting for the right day, so I can devote my hours on that one project alone and get over with it quickly. However, that opportunity may not come at all if you won’t seize the moment. There will always be new errands to do, new projects to finish, one on top of the other.

So, this is why I braved on starting this new blog even though it seems like a huge project. Other things which I should be doing in the next few days: fix my digital photo files on my computer, choose the ones I like to be printed, and compile it in an album; execute my plan to redecorate my house (on a budget of course); and more.  What are your personal projects which you should be starting today?

Do the most important tasks first. I think morning is the best time to get more tasks done before lunch time.

I check my personal email first thing in the morning and it eats up a lot of minutes before I can start my work. Sometimes I get lost hopping blogs or browsing through online magazines that I don’t even notice the time.

I do need to exercise restraint to keep myself from doing the things I like to do but are of less importance, so I don’t end up rushing to submit my report or finish my articles later in the day.

Begin the day early. I confess, I have trouble getting up from bed early. I do set my alarm at 6 am but as soon as it beeps, I reach out for my cell phone to turn off the annoying sound. What can I say, I guess I’m not a morning person?

I know it will take a huge rockprioritize tasks of motivation for me to get up earlier than usual. I know that I can be a more productive person if I can just get up, take an early shower, and get ready to do my projects for the day.  If I resolve to do these four steps, I know it will make a big difference.

Is time management an issue for you? Have you tried any of the above steps?

Would you like to resolve to try any of these suggestions? What’s your personal time-management technique?


What did you think of this article? I’d love to hear your thoughts.  If you enjoyed the read or if you find it useful, kindly please click any of the sharing icons below. You can Tweet, Stumble, Share it on Facebook or +1 it. 

Thanks a lot,

Rachel:)

 

photo sources:
1. cluttered space
2. suffer for 15 minutes
3. prioritize tasks

Share your thoughts

